Burrow’s Retains RAK Mens Open Title As Dunn Ties Amateur Course Record

Max Burrow produced another magical performance to win the 13th RAK Men’s Amateur Open and retain his title.

(Ras Al Khaimah, UAE) – The key EGF fixture saw the 13th installment from Al Hamra in which the finest talent from around the UAE competed in a 2 day 36 hole stroke play event. With competitors teeing it up the final two days before the course closed for the prestigious Road To Ras Al Khaimah Challenge Tour Grand Final, the course was in immaculate condition with beautiful lush fairways and speedy smooth rolling greens.

RAK Men’s Open Winners

Day 1 saw Max get off to a fast start after firing in a 68 following nines of 35 and 33, in a round which contained just 1 dropped shot. This saw him take a two-shot lead into day 2 from David Guinee who carded 70, closely followed by the duo of past winner Khalid Yousuf and Saif Thabet, who both carded level par rounds of 72.

Max followed up on Day 2 with a 1 under 71 for a 139 total and eventual 3 shot winning margin. Again he dropped just the 1 shot in his round which saw Khalid, Saif, and David all fall away on Day 2 as the trio carded rounds of 76, 76 and 75 respectively. Simon Dunn followed up his first round of 75 with a course record-equalling 67, a feat managed by Challenge Tour player James Allan in the same event 5 years prior, to finish on 142 and once again a second place finish. Third place went to Ahmad Skaik on a score of 145 following rounds of 72 and 73.

The net division saw an outstanding Day 1 performance from Al Hamra member Byung Jin Woo who posted a round of 67 and subsequent 3 shot lead into Day 2. Unfortunately, his second round score of 76 saw him finish second following a card play-off defeat to Ahmed Naim. Ahmed carded rounds of 72 and 71 to take the top net prize. Third place and claiming the last of the main prizes was Adam Zahri on a total of 144.

Tournament Winners

Gross  & Net

1st Place                                 

Max Burrow – 68 + 71 = 139                        Ahmad Naim – 72 + 71 = 143


2nd Place                                        

Simon Dunn – 75 + 67 = 142                       Byung Jin Woo – 67 + 76 = 143


3rd Place                                     

Ahmad Skaik – 72 + 73 = 145                     Adam Zahri – 71 + 73 = 144