UAE Amateurs Retain Dubai Golf Trophy

(Dubai, UAE) – Congratulations to the top Amateurs of the UAE who successfully defended the Dubai Golf Trophy, they defeated the best PGA Professionals in the region in a Ryder Cup-style showdown. The match took place over two days at Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club, followed by the final round on the Majlis course at Emirates Golf Club. This year was the 18th staging of this popular match with the Amateurs coming out on top by 17-15 points.

Both teams took to the fairways in their team Footjoy colors courtesy of shirt sponsors Pro Sports International. On day one, the Amateur team, captained by Bayhaan Lakdawala claimed the morning foursomes by 4.5 points to 3. 5. The teams were equally matched in the afternoon four balls, both claiming 4 points, giving Bayhaan and his team a 1 point advantage overnight.

The professionals captained by David Gray, would have been hoping for a fast start in the final day singles. Again both teams were equally matched early on. After the opening 7 games, 4 points went in the favor of professionals Callum Nicoll, Alex Nicholson, Shane Peakcock and Mike Bolt to tie the match. However, in the middle matches, strong performances and convincing victories for amateurs Mike Mezei, Aryan Chordia, Max Burrow and Arjun Gupta put the Amateurs back safely in pole position. A win on the 18th green for Chris Rahm in one of the latter matches confirmed their victory.

Notable mentions go to Mike Mezei and Chris Rahm, who earned maximum points for their side. Also to professionals Dong Lee, Shane Peacock and Alex Nicholson, who went undefeated and gained 3 from 3 points.

The event originally started as a social season-ending tournament in 2000 at Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club. Since then the event has grown in popularity and prestige and is now one of the highlights of the local golfing calendar for Professionals and Amateurs alike. Once again the Dubai Golf Trophy was played in great spirit over the two days; our thanks go to captains David Gray and Bayhaan Lakdawala, and their respective teams for taking part and competing so honorably in what is a fantastic local golfing spectacle. This year’s result brings the tally to 14 wins for the Professionals against four for the Amateurs.