Yas Links Men’s Open

(Abu Dhabi, UAE) – Friday, May 6th  and Saturday, May 7th  held arguably the signature Open tournament at Yas Links, the Yas Links Men’s Open. This year we had the partnership of Pirelli who provided eye-catching race cars to be kitted around the clubhouse as well as very attractive prizes to be extended to the winners on their first sponsorship of a Golf Event in the Middle East. The Men’s Open has been running for 6 years now, held annually every year since the clubs inception in March of 2010. Every year the competitions popularity increases resulting in a full draw sheet.


The day is largely made up of Yas Link’s members though we do get a full range of guest’s even golfers travelling internationally to attend. It allows a great opportunity for the golfing community to come together see how one stands against each other in and around the emirate. The competition as well offered incredible value with private check in, Breakfast and lunch buffet on both days, Two rounds of golf on the Championship Links Course, Unlimited practice ground access on both days and prizes for both days; an enjoyable social day with friendly competition. Bragging rights of a win was certainly an accolade competitors were striving for although Pirellis presence certainly made a win more attractive.

 Mikki Mirza took the top title in 2015 and was keen to reclaim that victory. Though by the end of day one, Yas Links Member William Royce and EGF Member Chris Johnston were in the lead. By the end of Day 2, 2014 Yas Links Men’s Champion Craig Vance took back his title and became the 2016 winner. Craig’s name will be etched back on the trophy as well as earned an incredible Aston Martin Racing Experience at the Yas Marina Circuit. He finished his round with a 2 day score of 150. The co-leader of day one Chris Johnston finished just behind with a 2 day score of 153 putting him in second place. Third place was presented to Tiago Lobo who finished in a 4 way tie of 154 but earned his spot with a better last 18.

 Nett Winner of the Championship went to Ian Houghton who blew away the field with a two day Nett score of 139. Second place was between John Burki and Mark Majer who both had a combined score of 149, though Burki had a better last 18 holes and took the second place title.  

 Honorable mentions and trophies were also presented to the individual days best Gross and Nett winners:

Day 1 Best Gross: William Royce – 75 Gross

Day 1 Best Nett: Andrew Smolak – 77 Nett

Day 2 Best Gross: Dave Guinee – 73 Gross

Day 2 Best Nett: Sun Jing Hwang – 74 Nett