R. Thomas, K. Chiang, & T. Lobo Win 2015 EGF Order of Merit Championship

(Dubai, UAE) – On May 22 – 23, 2015 the Emirates Golf Federation (EGF) held the 2015 EGF Order of Merit (OOM) Championship at The Els Club. This prestigious event hosted over 45 elite amateur golfers, across three different divisions.

2014 – 2015 Emirates Golf Federation Order of Merit Winners

2014 – 2015 Emirates Golf Federation Order of Merit Winners


The EGF OOM Championship had representing divisions for Men, Ladies’, and Junior’s. The field was composed of the top amateur golfers from each division that supported and competed in the 2014 – 2015 EGF OOM Season.


Rayhan Thomas from Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club was the Champion of the Men’s Division. After shooting a 72, first round, Thomas had a four shot lead going into the final round. With a 76 in the second round of the event Thomas sealed his victory. Having a total score of 148, 4-over-par, Thomas won the event by 7 strokes.


Finishing as the Runner-Up in the Championship was Zi Hao Su from Al Badia Golf Club. Su had rounds of 82 and 73 for an event total of 155. Su had a great finish as he went birdie, eagle on the last two holes. Taking Third Place was Andrew Smolak representing the Emirates Golf Federation. Smolak had rounds of 77-78 and won on a day two, back nine count back, with an event total of 155.



Kim Chiang playing out of the Arabian Ranches Golf Club was the Champion for the Ladies’ Division. After firing a first round of 76, Chiang set a new Women’s Course Record by shooting a 67 on day two. Chiang fired a tournament best with a total score of 143, 1-under-par.


Playing at her home course and coming in Second Place was Anastasia Bakal. Bakal finished four shots back with rounds of 77-70 for an event total of 147. Rounding out the top-three and coming in Third Place was Sahana Parvantavida with two rounds of 78 for a total of 156. Parvantavida plays her golf out of Emirates Golf Club.


The Junior Division was played with the Girls and Boys golfers combined. This division was full of talent as Tiago Lobo from Abu Dhabi Golf Club took home the First Place prize. Lobo fired two rounds of 73 for a total of 146. Lobo won by eight strokes.


Finishing in second place was Dhruv Nair from Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club. Nair had rounds of 78-76 for an event total of 154. Bouncing back from an 85 in the first round and shooting an impressive 71 in the second round was Aarkesh Bhatia. Playing out of the Dubai Creek Golf & Yacht Club, Bhatia had an event total of 156 taking home the Third Place prize.


There were also prizes given to players in each division that shot the lowest rounds for each day. For day one Rayhan Thomas (Men’s / 72), Kim Chiang (Ladies’ / 76), and Tiago Lobo (Junior’s / 73) won the Best Gross awards. For day two Ryan Hunter (Men’s / 70), Kim Chiang (Ladies / 67, Course Record), and Aarkesh Bhatia (Junior’s / 71) won the Best Gross awards.


After the tournament the EGF hosted an award ceremony where both the winners of the EGF OOM Championship and the winners of the EGF OOM Season received their well-deserved prizes. To see all of the results from the EGF OOM Season, please revert to the EGF website at www.egfgolf.com.


The EGF would like to thank all Golf Clubs, partners, and most importantly all EGF Golfers for a successful 2014-2015 OOM Season and Championship.


To see all photos from this event please visit the EGF’s Facebook book page (Emirates Golf Federation).



0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.